top of page
  • stephanielzj

Volunteering as an Exhibition Host at the Singapore Biennale 2022


Stephanie (left) and her friend Desiree (right), at the Singapore Biennale 2022.

I had the opportunity to volunteer at Singapore Art Museum's Singapore Biennale 2022 as an exhibition host. I was stationed at two venues: Tanjong Pagar Distripark and 22 Orchard Road. My tasks included ensuring visitors adhere to the rules of the gallery, answering visitor queries, and helping with the opening/closing of the galleries.


Through this experience, I met people of different backgrounds that chose to work in a museum setting for various reasons. One staff had a bachelor's and master's degree in architecture, worked in the field for a few years and decided it was too taxing for her. Working in the museum as a gallery sitter from 10am to 6pm, 5 days a week, allowed her to achieve work life balance, which was very interesting to me. Her story provided me with a different perspective as to why people choose to work in the arts industry — a question I love asking, mostly because I enjoy analysing human behaviour (and the arts).


By volunteering at SAM, I was also able to witness first-hand how a non-purpose built venue like Temasek Shophouse at 22 Orchard Road could be transformed into an art gallery.

The quiet setting of the two venues allowed me to observe the different faces that visit arts spaces in Singapore. It was fascinating to watch how visitors react to or treat certain artworks. Some people come solely to take photos for Instagram while others take the time to process and appreciate each piece of art. Regardless, I believe the arts is meant to be accessible and open to all, but I do hope to see more people taking the time to truly see the art as more than what it is.

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page